I was thinking today, about all of the different personas involved at a living history event and I’m curious as to how many people have actually made a conscious decision to play that particular role. Personally, I attend events with my family, so when I started to participate in this hobby I just followed my step-father and became a member of his units. This past summer was the first time I broke away. Normally at the Grand Encampment @ Fort Ticonderoga (held every June and my personal FAVORITE event) I portray a British camp follower, this past season I went over to the French side. The experience, as well as the attire, was very enjoyable and I didn’t think much of becoming a traitor, until this afternoon. Can you jump back and forth for the experience itself? Are there loyalties?

British, French, German, Natives, etc… How do you choose a side?

