A few weeks ago I went home to photograph my family in their reenacting attire. This time however instead of portraits, we set up scenes to go along with a narrative developed with the help of my wise step-father. The story itself is as follows:

The year is 1779 in the Mohawk Valley. The family of Johannes Van Der Werken has been loyal to the King in these times of unrest and open rebellion to the Crown. The men have gone to join forces with John Butler and his Rangers at Fort Niagara. The women have stayed home to tend the family farm. Though the neighbors have been vocal in rebellion they have not bothered the women. Times are changing though, land and farms have been taken by Rebel law, and some homesteads have been burned. Hearing such, Johannes and son Garrett, have come back in the winter to spirit his wife Catherina and daughter Bridget to safety. They have packed only a few belongings and have slipped away. Bridget is sickly but they must risk the winter trip westward. All of their lives are in danger.

We spent all of that Saturday photographing in the FREEZING cold. My sister Lauren even stopped in to help before she went to work. I am extremely grateful for my family’s support in my photographic efforts. THANKS!!!

From this shoot we captured close to 200 images, and from them I narrowed my final cut to five, and this is not including my amazing panorama which unfortunately I cannot post at this time as I am trying to figure out a way to post it on the blog so that it can be truly enjoyed. The print after all is 80″ wide! Anyways…the final five images are below, keep in mind there is still some fine tuning which must be done before my final critique on the 26th…wish me luck!

The Journey Camp Death Sadness Left Behind

